South Bruce is a municipality and census subdivision in Bruce County, Ontario, Canada.

According to the 2006 Census, South Bruce is home to 5,939 people over an area of 487.17 square kilometres. This is a 2.0% drop from the population of 6,063 recorded in the 2001 census. There were 2155 private dwellings occupied by usual residents, out of a total of 2297 dwellings.

Population Trend:

  • Population in 2006: 5939
  • Population in 2001: 6063
  • Population in 1996: 6248

The two main population centres in South Bruce are Mildmay and Teeswater. The following communities are also within the municipal boundaries:

  • Carlsruhe
  • Deemerton
  • Formosa
  • Belmore

South Bruce History:

South Bruce was created in 1999 as part of county-wide municipal restructuring. In 1998, the Township of Culross and the Village of Teeswater amalgamated to form the Township of Teeswater-Culross. Similarly, the Village of Mildmay joined with the Township of Carrick to form the Township of Mildmay-Carrick. The following year, both Mildmay-Carrick and Teeswater-Culross amalgamated again to form South Bruce, choosing Teeswater as the seat of the municipality.